Waiting on Wednesday #2

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we highlight an up and coming release we are eagerly anticipating.

TheHellsbloodBride-144dpi

The Hellsblood Bride by Chuck Wendig

Series: Mookie Pearl #2

Genre: Urban-fantasy, Adult

The Plot

Yes, we’re going back deep underground for another twelve rounds with Mookie Pearl. Father, barkeep, former Mafioso, ruler of his subterranean crime-kingdom. The Organization is back, and they’ll do anything to get Mookie on board, but Mookie has gone legit, and it’s taking every ounce of effort for him to keep his new bar from crashing and burning. To top it all, his daughter is missing, and when Nora’s not in plain sight, that’s usually a sign of bad things to come! On one hand, the Organization. On the other, Nora. Why can’t Family ever be easy – ?

~ Goodreads~

Recently I read the first book in this series, The Blue Blazes (look out for my review shortly) and Chuck Wendig was definitely an author I have been following behind for quite a while, reading his Miriam Black series. He is honestly a really gritty, intense author that does not shy away from horror, violence and bad language and he makes his characters realistic, harsh and with many flaws, that at times does make them likeable. This series is honestly quite an imaginative and innovative one when it comes to the urban-fantasy genre and I am looking forward to the direction of the second novel and what Wendig will be doing with it.

17 Comments

Filed under Waiting on Wednesday

17 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday #2

  1. I’ve always wanted to do Waiting on Wednesdays because I love seeing what other people are eagerly anticipating as it gives me ideas of what to add to my TBR [even though it’s long enough already!] but I never really get round to it. I did a few using my own meme ‘Fangirling For..’ but it kind of petered out. 😦 But, this book I have never heard of, nor this series so I think I’m definitely going to go and check it out on goodreads and maybe see if my library stocks the first one. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for stopping by IT WAS LOVELY READING YOU

  2. Honest characters are good but harsh one I don’t know…it depends, I guess? πŸ˜‰ I really like the originality of the cover though. Hope it’ll be a good sequel for you. ^^

  3. Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms

    That summary is kind of all over the place xD But I love the cover! I haven’t read the first book which is probably why I didn’t understand much the plot. Good for authors who don’t shy away from things! πŸ˜€

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Yeah it is a little all over the place, I guess if you do not understand the plot since that’s basically what it is!

  4. Woah, that cover! I’m loving it, it’s so striking! I haven’t heard of this series, but I have heard of other books by Chuck Wendig and people really seem to dig his stuff a lot. From your description of this series, it sounds a bit like Rick Yancey’s writing in The Monstrumologist, which is a series that I LOVE. I never thought horror would be my thing, but I got really into in in The Monstrumologist series and I really think I would love this series too. I’ll look out for your review first though!

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Oooh, I will have to go take a pick at Rick Yancey by the sounds of him! And yeah, one thing I do like about Wendig is the covers of his novels, they are always really striking!

  5. I’ve never actually ever heard of this one – or read anything by this author, but I love the sound of this series. Perhaps I should give it a go!

  6. kay

    I had never heard of this series! I remember hearing great things about Blackbirds and adding it to my wishlist, but this sounds like possibly a good fit for me too. Great pick for your wishlist! πŸ™‚ (and thanks for stopping by my blog!)

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Not a problem. Yeah, I really quite liked Blackbirds too, so if you check out either, I hope you enjoy them.

  7. Haven’t heard of this one but sounds good and hope that you get to read it soon.

  8. I’ve read SO much writing advice from Chuck Wending. He’s known to be super direct and doesn’t hold back anything, and so I’m not really surprised to see that his novel writing style is so similar. I’ve been looking for something gritty to read lately, something that just doesn’t hold back, so I think I’ll have to try The Blue Blazes! I really hope that the sequel turns out just as awesome as the first. The cover is so mesmerizing!!

    Lovely pick, Livvy! ❀

    (For some reason, I didn't even know you had a new blog name!! This is what happens when you go to vacation overseas for such a long time, alas. I've followed though, so problem solved!!)

    • Livvy @The Absent Historian

      Ah, I did not realise he gave so much writing advice, but it does sound like takes his own advice. I hope you enjoy it, if you get around to reading.
      And ahhh, I am not sure I made it abundantly clear to be honest because I am not sure everyone knows, but oh well, I wanted a change and hopefully people will start following again.
      Thanks, Aneeqah! ❀

  9. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads)

    OOh I have not heard of this book or the author before so I shall go check this out on GR right now!

    Great pick <33

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

