Charmeine

1 Charmeine Book CoverCharmeine by Emily Guido

Genre: Paranormal-Romance, Adult

Series: The Light-Bearers Series #1

Published: January 12th 2012 by WordPress

Tabbruis is an extremely attractive Blood-Hunter who has reconciled himself to be alone forever. Over millennia Tabbruis has wandered the Earth alone, aimlessly living through many historical events.

Charleen (aka Charmeine) was found in 1997 as a teenager, unable to remember where she was from or where her family was. She was sent to an orphanage where she met her best friend, Shane. With determination, she works hard and becomes a school teacher. Tabbruis comes to her aid when she is attacked by a Blood-Hunter. Charmeine’s power as a Light-Bearer, one who throws lightning, is triggered when she meets Tabbruis, and it grows exponentially. When they meet, the attraction is immediate, romantic and passionate. They are polar opposites and clash together in a dramatic way.

Will Charmeine and Tabbruis fulfil their destinies? Will they realize their importance in both the Blood-Hunter and Light-Bearer world?

My Review:

An intriguing, unique concept laid before you, a book with a general consensus to be really good, but for me, I just couldn’t connect as much as other people seem to have done. I adored the foundations of the plot and thought that Charmeine and the Light-Bearers series could really go far, but I felt that the little details of the novel weren’t quite there for me. I’m a little picky honestly and this book wasn’t perfect in the way it was written. I found the writing to be rather disjointed for myself and whilst periods of it really drew me in and engaged my attention, other scenes through me out and certain character traits.

 

I have to be honest, I didn’t like Charmeine at all. This was probably my biggest problem. I felt like she was bordering on becoming a Mary Sue and her descriptions didn’t really filter through to me. The idea I had of her in my head didn’t really fit and I guess this didn’t connect with me. She also had some god awful sayings.

“Geez Louise, talk about me being exasperating… Good night!”

Then there was Tabbruis, he was okay, but I didn’t really get the whole hot guy feeling from him. He felt rather moody and dower. Sad to say, but he almost reminded me of Edward from Twilight. I liked his back story when he talked about his early years and I found it really interesting and to be truthful, it was my favourite part of the story! I really enjoyed it. If we’d have had more of the story focused on his history, I think I would have been able to allow me to enjoy it more.

The problem came with Tabbruis, when everybody saw him as the most attractive man on Earth. It’s just not the idea I want from my male lead.

“The young attractive female desk clerk raked her eyes over Tabbruis’ extremely attractive male frame.”

I felt like the writing was fairly weak and some of the grammar points weren’t quite as strong as they could be and whilst this doesn’t bother some people, I find myself to be a real stickler for it. And the sentence structure was either really simple with “Tabbruis did this” or “Tabbruis did that” or “Tabbruis hovered over here” or Guido tried to take on really complex ideas that didn’t really work for her sentences because they became disjointed and required lots of attention to actually read them. Some of the sentences felt awkward too.

“Tabbruis looked at Shane in the eye. The message was received immediately! Shane got out and grabbed Charmeine and threw her in the front seat.”

Not only that, but I felt that things hit extremes and really went overboard and bizarre. It wasn’t my type of thing all this crazy connections and behaviour. It just didn’t feel like it fitted with the story.

Nevertheless the plot was really original and brilliant with Light-Bearers and Blood-Hunters which were similar to vampires and I liked the forbidden love element. Guido didn’t descend into raunchy sex scenes and developed an actual relationship for her characters which is refreshing for a book from this genre which is usually riddled with sex scenes, not that they are always a bad thing, I just think it made it stand out more. The forbidden love I hope Guido builds up in her later novels because I didn’t feel like we got enough push and pull in this one to represent the forbidden love element.

The plot with the Light-Bearers and Blood-Hunters was twisted from falling from heaven and whether they were actually angels is something I’m unsure of at the moment. I’m hoping the origins of both Blood-Hunters and Light-Bearers will be explored in future novels, but I do feel like they were very different to your usual vampires and human damsels in distress. Charmeine had a lot more of her own power, I just don’t like how the boys tended to push her around and prevent her from growing into her own strong female character. I wish she’d just been a little bit more intelligent and active on her own grounds.

“She knew he had healed her but she had no idea how.”

I also felt like we had a religious undertone with the idea of God and angels that was stronger than some of the other angel novels I’ve read. Maybe that’s something that follows with the idea of God, but the two sides did feel like they were radical sects of religion almost. And the lack of sex does indicate a religious thread.

In addition to this, I felt like their relationship had ever so slight threads of insta-love. However, Guido did build up a relationship between them and things weren’t rushed. I barely remember them exchanging a kiss. Whilst their physical relationship was slow, I didn’t feel like we gained enough connection between them intellectually and through talking so hopefully Guido will build on this in the future novels.

Overall, I did enjoy reading the novel, but reading it simultaneously with another paranormal-romance probably wasn’t the best idea because I did begin to compare them. Despite my qualms about the first book, I will be picking up the second novel to read and I wouldn’t discard this series so quickly because it does have some good ideas.

3 books

Fulfil your inner nerd and find out more here:

4 Comments

Filed under 2012 Publication, 3 Books, Adult, E-book, Emily Guido, Paranormal Romance, WordPress

4 responses to “Charmeine

  1. Tabbruis looked AT Shane in the eye?? Now that should be Tabbruis looked Shane in the eye, surely. Even though that’s just one example you’ve given, I can imagine how disjointed the writing can get when it’s like that throughout. The concepts sound quite interesting, but I am not convinced about the characters, which can greatly affect my enjoyment of a book. Still, I’m glad to hear you will be reading the sequel. Brilliant review as always!

    • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

      Yeah. It was like that throughout. I didn’t want to pick up and tear the book apart because it did have redeeming qualities, just not in the actual writing.
      They do me too. I think if the second book isn’t much better, I’m just going to give up with the series because it just won’t be for me.
      Thank youuu! 🙂

  2. Great review! Sounds like a pass for me based on the description!

  3. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (19) |

Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate every single view. If you're a fellow blogger I'll return follows/comments. Unfortunately this is an award and tag free zone because of time constraints, but I appreciate the thought.

